Home » Assembly Election » Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab Elections 2017

Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab Elections 2017

A recent poll held in March declared that Aam Aadmi Party is supposed to form the government in Punjab. Politics is just a game. The results of the poll states AAP should take 90 seats out of total 117 seats. Congress lost its seat in 2012 so they are hoping to come back with fervour in 2017 but nevertheless AAP too has its own dream to fulfill.

After Delhi, AAP is hoping to set up government in Punjab. Akali chief, Prakash Singh Badal is already above 90 so he will not be able to serve the position of chief minister any more. Hence it is really difficult for Akali-BJP party to maintain its firm position in Punjab.

Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab Elections

Image Copyright @ElectionsTime: Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab Elections

Therefore they have launched a strong campaign against AAP. In their campaign they have strongly focussed on the point that AAP is not a native party of Punjab and it is guided by people from outside the state of Punjab.

Mr. Singh considers Arvind Kejriwal’s party consisting of “corrupt and greedy “individuals who are only devoting their time in selling tickets for their party. Mr. Amarinder Singh, Congress Chief of Punjab is expecting a proper victory of Congress which is diminishing the chances of AAP to form a government in Punjab. There are many scandals, sex, bribery, drug allegation against the AAP members.

AAP’s first list containing the names of 19 candidates has been released. AAP party member, Bhagwant Mann will lead Aam Aadmi Party’s campaign committee. Mr. Mann is nowadays facing a serious controversy for violating security protocol by uploading a short parliament video on facebook.

A very notable member in the first list is H.S Phoolka. He is a Supreme Court lawyer who is now out to gain justice for the victims of 1984 anti-Sikh riots. He will contest from Ludhiana.  AAP has released its second list of candidates. This list was released by AAP’s in charge of Punjab, Mr. Sanjay Singh and Sangrur Lok Sabha MP, Bhagwant Mann in Amritsar.

Some famous personalities included in the list are Baljinder Kaur, Talwandi Sabo,chief of the trade wing, Aman Arora, daughter of late Congress leader Jasjit Randhawa, Anu Randhawa, Jaswinder Singh Jahangir from Attari, Gurpreet Singh Bhatti from Amloh, Karanvir Singh Tiwana from rural Patiala, Baldev Singh Azad from Malout, Harpal Singh Cheema from Dirba and Ravjot Singh from Sham Chaurasi.

Third list has been released with total 29 more candidates.  Some eminent candidates selected includes a Padma Shri and Arjuna awardee wrestler, an industrialist, a Behbal Kalan activist, a Sikh preacher, a private bus operator and 3 former MLA s.

Fourth list has been released  by AAP containing total 18 names of candidates. Sarabjit Kaur contested from Dera Bassi is 71 years old.

AAP has released its fifth candidate list for the Punjab assembly elections 2017. With the fifth list being released, Aam Aadmi Party declared the name of total 91 candidates of the total 117 seats in Punjab.

AAP has a mixture of candidates from different backgrounds hence they are expecting a positive response from Punjab.

About Elections Time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top