Home » Assembly Election » Punjab Elections 2017- Dates, Polling Schedule, Results, and Updates

Punjab Elections 2017- Dates, Polling Schedule, Results, and Updates

The Election Commission of India has released a statement stating that Punjab will conduct its elections on 4th of February 2017 right after the presentation of the Union Budget on February 1, 2017. The polling will be held in a single phase. Punjab election date was announced in January.

Punjab Legislative Assembly

Image Credit: Elections Time

Currently, SAD-BJP government, led by the Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal will face voters five years after coming back to power in the year 2012. This year we are expecting an intensely political activity in the state in the run-up to the elections when voters cast their votes. It will be interesting to see the three main parties fighting for the spot- AAP, BJP, and Congress.

Punjab Elections 2017: Important Dates

The Punjab elections 2017 important dates have not yet been announced by the government. However, the elections are expected to be conducted around February-March 2017 right after the announcement of the union budget on February 1, 2017.

Punjab Elections 2017 Polling

Elective Name of the parties


Main Parties

Apna Punjab
State Punjab
Ruling Party SAD

Find more: Exit polls result for Punjab elections

Main Parties in 2017 Punjab Elections

  • SAD
  • BJP (NDA)
  • Congress (UPA)
  • AAP
  • Apna Punjab Front (Sucha Singh Chottepur)
  • Awaz-e-Punjab Front
  • BSP
  • TMC (Jagmeet Singh Brar) and others

Punjab Elections 2017: Results

As the SAD-BJP combined has been ruling the roost since two consecutive terms in the state, there is a higher degree of possibility of anti-incumbency sentiment among voters. Although Congress is the main opposition there; however, voters are not in favor of seeing them as a perfect choice of an alternative.

Checkout: NDA Candidates list for Punjab polls 2017

Apart from these two, there is Aam Admi Party, which is now gaining a lot of momentum. The AAP party got an encouraging response in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections where all four of its candidates won in their maiden elections. Interestingly, Punjab is the only state where AAP won all the four seats it contested from.

Now that Punjab is preparing itself for the elections in 2017, the youth in most of Punjab’s districts is inclined to vote for AAP because of the connect AAP has been able to make among the citizens. The party also is now looking at increasing its voter base with the help of its volunteers.

The Punjab legislative assembly or the Vidhan Sabha has 117 members currently. These members are elected from 117 single member constituencies of the state.

Currently, the governor of Punjab is Kaptan Singh Solanki. Charanjit Singh Atwal is the Speaker of the Assembly; Dinesh Singh is the Deputy speaker. Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal is the leader of the house while Sunil Kumar Jakhar is the main opposition leader of Congress. The Assembly meets at the Vidhan Bhavan in Chandigarh.

See more: Punjab Elections 2017 Results full summary

Leaders of Punjab

Punjab has been led by fifteen different Chief Ministers, out of which the first one was Gopi Chand Bhargava (INC), who assumed office on August 15, 1947. The longest serving leader of the state is Parkash Singh Badal (SAD) who served for 15 years.

About Elections Time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top